Recommended if You Like
Brand New Heavies Incognito Jeff Lorber

Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Jazz-Funk Urban/R&B: Funk Moods: Mood: Upbeat Moods: Instrumental Electronic: Acid Jazz

By Location
UK - England - East Midlands

Band Website Facebook Page

Afro Elements

Afro Elements have been performing as a band since 1995, with their first single - the ‘Chocolat’ EP being released on Internal Bass records in 2000. The title track was licensed around the world for many compilations, most notably on Nude Dimensions 2 compilation on Naked Music NYC.

Many of the band were also the live band for the studio based project Mr.Gone, which saw the release of two albums, ‘Looking at The Future in The Rear View Mirror’ (Internal Bass - UK) and ‘Fresh Out The Box’ (Run Records / Lakeshore Entertainment - USA).

Since then many of the group’s members recorded an album under the name Black Gold Massive, releasing the acclaimed soul album ‘Stories’ on Major Menace (USA) which featured as the main vocalist Cindy Mizelle (Beyoncé, Steely Dan, Masters at Work).
They then went on to release their own debut album, ‘It Remains To Be Seen’ on Freestyle Records (UK), and on Swanky Records (Japan). The album featured 26 musicians and also had a guest appearance by legendary keyboard player Jeff Lorber.

In addition to recording and playing concerts all over Europe, the guys spent three years working with Stuart Wade performing concerts under the project name Down To The Bone, playing concerts in the UK, Switzerland, Bulgaria and Japan.

Afro Elements have also got a reputation as the backing band of choice to a few visiting famous Blue Note artists, most famously Eddie Henderson, trumpet (Herbie Hancock, Pharoah Sanders); Gary Bartz, sax (Miles Davis, Art Blakey, Norman Connors); and also Reuben Wilson, organ, (Melvin Sparks, Idris Muhammad, Donald Byrd).

Their next album, out now on Splash Music, features guest guitarist Barry Finnerty (formerly of the Crusaders & the Brecker Brothers), along with vocalist Fraser Jowle (JD73), trumpeter Graeme Flowers (the Sunburst Band) & saxophonist Andy Ross (Incognito). the album contains 10 tracks - 9 original compositions, and one cover version of the Beatles’ ‘Eleanor Rigby’.