Recommended if You Like
Flogging Molly The Pogues Shane MacGowan

Genres You Will Love
Moods: Mood: Upbeat Rock: Celtic Rock Metal/Punk: British Punk Metal/Punk: Oi! Folk: Celtic Folk

By Location

Official Web Page FACEBOOK Band Page MySpace Page

Greenland Whalefishers

“a solid slab of heavily Pogues influenced Celtic Punk” – Shite N’ Onions

More than 17 years on the road resulting in 4 singles, 2 EPs, 7 full-length albums and a number of split-releases, touring the USA, Japan, England, Germany, Italy, Scotland, Poland, Czeck Rep. etc has placed Greenland Whalefishers from Norway among Europe's leading Paddy Punk bands.
In 2009 the band contributed with music to the movie "Boondock Saints - All Saints Day" and in 2010 the band did a USA tour that included Hollywood, Las Vegas and Los Angeles, a tour in the UK and they released their 6th album "SONGS FROM the BUNKER" witch was rated to a fift place by Shite N' Onions list over the best Celtic Punk CDs in 2010. Shite N' Onions is a highly credible web-magazine covering celtic rock and punk. They also placed Greenland Whalefishers album "Loboville" on their list of the “10 best celtic punk albums ever”, above artists like Dropkick Murphys and Shane MacGowan. In March 2011 the band released their album "SONGS FROM the BUNKER in Japan.

Greenland Whalefishers started out in 1992, long before anyone had heard about bands like Flogging Molly or Dropkick Murphys. The founding members started to meet once a week in purpose to listen and jamming to folk music, which at this point penetrated their rock'n roll brains. Ramones, Thin Lizzy, Rancid, Pogues, Dubliners, Waterboys and similar bands got things started and inspired to song writing. Soon own songs got shaped and more musicians where gathered to get a band started. Alive and kicking harder then ever, the folk-punk story continues...

More information, videos, pictures and music at the bands official webpage

Arvid Grov: vocals, el-guitar, mandolin
Gunnar Twosheds Grov: banjo, mandolin, bouzooki, vocals
Agnes Skollevoll: thin-whistle, vocals, harmonica
Trond Olsen: guitar, vocals
Atle-Hjørn Øien: bass, vocals
Ørjan Eikeland Risan: drums, vocals
Odin Døssland: el-fiddle, vocals