Recommended if You Like
John Coltrane Ornette Coleman McCoy Tyner

Genres You Will Love
Moods: Featuring Saxophone Jazz: Contemporary Jazz Jazz: Jazz quartet Jazz: Avant-Garde Jazz Jazz: Free Jazz

By Location


Muriel Grossmann

Muriel Gross­mann
saxo­phone, sin­ger, composer

Aus­trian alto, soprano, tenor saxo­pho­nist, sin­ger and com­po­ser Muriel Gross­mann was born in Paris and grew up in Vienna, where she initia­ted clas­si­cal stu­dies of flute at the age of five until twenty-one, when she swit­ched to alto and soprano saxo­phone for fur­ther studies.

Muriel Gross­mann played and tou­red with various rhythm & blues, funk, world music and jazz groups and artists such as Hans Tschi­ritsch, Shani Ben Canar, Chris­toph Kurz­mann, Geri Schul­ler, Pete Hoven, Robert Rehak, The Ori­gi­nal Brothers.

In 2002 she moved to Bar­ce­lona where she star­ted to lead her own bands for recor­dings and con­certs. Muriel Gross­mann is resi­dent in Ibiza since 2004, which marks a very fruit­ful recor­ding and per­for­ming period.

Muriel Gross­mann played and recor­ded with Joa­chim Kuehn, Wolf­gang Rei­sin­ger, Rolf Kuehn, Mar­tin Klin­ge­berg, Tho­mas Hei­de­priem, Mark Vinci, Molly Dun­can, Chris­tian Lil­lin­ger, Johan­nes Fink, Robert Land­fer­mann and Muriel Gross­mann Bar­ce­lona Quar­tet fea­turing Rado­mir Milo­ko­vic on gui­tar, David Mar­ro­quin on upright and Marko Jelaca on drums, recor­ding and per­for­ming ori­gi­nal compositions.

Gross­mann played in Spain, Aus­tria, Ger­many, Hol­land, Ire­land, Greece, Eng­land, Morocco, South Africa, Poland, Slove­nia, Italy, per­for­ming over 150 con­certs a year.

2011–2014 Muriel Gross­mann was per­for­ming and recor­ding with quar­tet fea­turing Rado­mir Milo­j­ko­vic (Bel­grade) on gui­tar, Robert Land­fer­mann (Colo­gne) on upright bass and Chris­tian Lil­lin­ger (Ber­lin) on drums.

Since 2014 she is working with Rado­mir Milo­j­ko­vic (Bel­grade) on gui­tar, Gina Schwarz (Vienna) on dou­ble bass and Uros Sta­men­ko­vic (Bel­grade) on drums.


Here And Now (2008)
Quar­tet (2008)
Sud­den Impact (2009)
Birth of the Mys­tery (2010)
Awa­ke­ning (2013)
Earth Tones (2015)
Natu­ral Time (2016)