Recommended if You Like
Conlon Nancarrow james tenney

Genres You Will Love
Classical: Contemporary Moods: Type: Acoustic Avant Garde: Classical Avant-Garde Classical: Opera Classical: Piano solo

By Location
United States - California - LA United States - California United States - United States

Veronika Krausas

Composer Veronika Krausas has had her works performed in Canada, France, Australia, Germany, the Netherlands, Romania and the US.

Since 1998 Krausas has directed, composed for, and produced multi-media events in Los Angeles that incorporate her works with dance, acrobatics and video. LA Times reviewer Mark Swed said of the 2010 LA production of her chamber opera The Mortal Thoughts of Lady Macbeth, “Something novel this way comes.” A commission for the 25th Anniversary of the San Francisco Choral Artists and the Alexander String Quartet, using text by the poet Lawrence Ferlinghetti, was premiered in May 2011 in San Francisco.

Krausas is on faculty in the Composition Department and the Assistant Director of Undergraduate Theory at the Thornton School of Music at the University of Southern California, a pre-concert lecturer at the Los Angeles Philharmonic, on the advisory board of Jacaranda Music, the associate director of The Industry, and an artist with Catalysis Projects.