Lo-Fi Resistance | A Deep Breath

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Jeff Buckley King's X Todd Rundgren

Album Links
MySpace Page

More Artists From
United States - New York

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Progressive Rock Pop: Pop/Rock Moods: Type: Experimental
There are no items in your wishlist.

A Deep Breath

by Lo-Fi Resistance

A unique blend of rock, pop, progressive rock, and singer-songwriter styles. Strong and tasteful musicianship, lush vocals, and thought-provoking lyrics make for a mature, promising debut.
Genre: Rock: Progressive Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. The Grand Design?
Share this song!
1:23 $0.99
2. Hello New Star!
Share this song!
3:06 $0.99
3. Embrace
Share this song!
5:29 $0.99
4. .
Share this song!
5:39 $0.99
5. How It Works
Share this song!
4:37 $0.99
6. Simple
Share this song!
0:49 $0.99
7. Too Simple
Share this song!
8:58 $0.99
8. All We Have
Share this song!
3:34 $0.99
9. On My Own
Share this song!
4:20 $0.99
10. Moral Disgrace
Share this song!
6:33 $0.99
11. Wasted
Share this song!
3:57 $0.99
Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.


Album Notes
"A Deep Breath is a very good, at times exceptional, album...great guitar hooks abound and McStine's multi-tracked [vocal] harmonies impress throughout". -Progression

**** out of 4 stars. "A dazzling nexus of lush virtuosity, demonstrating once again that McStine is far beyond his years". -Press & Sun Bulletin

“This is a superb album straddling progressive and modern melodic rock… great songwriting is in evidence, supported by stellar guitar work, layered sounds and harmony vocals”. –Kinesis

A Deep Breath is a compelling musical journey from explosive bombast to heart-wrenching melancholy. Offering a unique cocktail of progressive pop/rock and beyond, it refuses to conform or bask in any one particular genre. Eleven diverse tracks lay out a musical and lyrical landscape that engulfs the listener and doesn't overstay its welcome.

"Emotional", "bleak", "hopeful", and "brutally honest" partially sum up the lyrics and subject matter of the album; sometimes all in one song. Employing adventurous songwriting, powerful vocals, soaring and textural guitars, and the bulk of overall instrumentation, bandleader Randy McStine is really laying it out here. The album is heightened by incredible performances from world-renowned drummer/vocalist Nick D'Virgilio (Spock's Beard/Tears for Fears), and legendary King's X vocalist Dug Pinnick.

Keeping the "song" in mind first and foremost, the musicianship is muscular and daring when it wants to be, and perfectly simple when it should be. The album is housed in a digipak complete with lyric booklet and artwork/layout from Thomas Ewerhard (Asia/Pete Townshend).


to write a review

Paul Duda

Amazing....just a start
To put it simple, this cd is great. Every song has something special to offer.
Beautiful harmonies, layered sounds and excellent guitar makes you want to play this again and again.
Randy Mcstine wrote, performed and produced this incredible mixture of songs. One can only imagine what this young talent is capable of doing next.
Do yourself a favor and buy this and listen and listen.
One great one down...plenty more to come...just a start.