The Huntsman's Apology | Snare

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
John Cale The Velvet Underground The Walkabouts

Album Links
PayPlay Apple iTunes Bitmunk Emusic GreatIndieMusic GroupieTunes PassAlong Tradebit

More Artists From

Other Genres You Will Love
Folk: Power-folk Rock: Progressive Rock Moods: Type: Soundtrack
There are no items in your wishlist.


by The Huntsman's Apology

Folk Rock with melancholic lyrics, a dark voice, a beautiful siren and intense violin that will shake your musical world.
Genre: Folk: Power-folk
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Black River
Share this song!
3:37 $0.99
2. Fools we were
Share this song!
3:40 $0.99
3. Susie
Share this song!
3:23 $0.99
4. The promise is broken
Share this song!
4:10 $0.99
5. The Land of heart's desire
Share this song!
11:51 $0.99
6. Ignoring the ignorance
Share this song!
3:04 $0.99
7. Steppin'out
Share this song!
4:22 $0.99
8. Scared of white
Share this song!
6:58 $0.99
Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.


Album Notes
The Huntsman's Apology - so named after a poem by Irish poet John Montague - were founded in Rotterdam several years ago by brothers Eric and Pim Boekesteyn.

Originally a four piece, featuring guitar player Fred Stekelenburg and Hans Klop on bass, their setlist was fed on an eclectic choice of covers by Nick Drake, Tim Buckley, and more obscure folksongs. Soon however, these were traded for original material, especially after the arrival of Dorine Hehemann, whose brilliant violin playing and tender voice directed the band towards a more defined style; A unique blend of rock, classical sounds, folk and underground, with a melancholy twist.

Following a number of (acoustic) radio sessions (World Broadcasting, NCRV), the band started to experiment and include electric guitars in their sound. The departure of bass player Hans Klop sounded the bell for a whole new era, in which a real rhythm section (Luc Bunt on electric bass and Holger Breek on drums) laid the musical foundation. They provided the songs with an edge, where tender folk could explode in mayhem of total abandon, and often within seconds.

This line-up recorded the debut album 'Snare' in 1997. Its release met with excellent Dutch press (OOR magazine, Fret, Plato Mania, Rif Raf, Miziek in Beweging), and secured them a spot on the prestigious Crossing Broder Festival (with Henry Rollins, Julian Cope, Grag Sage, Sixteen Horsepower, and many more). In the same year, they shared the stage with other well-known acts as John Cale, K's Choice, Corrs, The Walkabouts, Whiskey Priests and John Wetton. Furthermore, 'Snare' was promoted on more radio sessions for Radio Rijnmond, StadsRadio Rotterdam and Radio West.


to write a review