Luxe Canyon | Luxe Canyon

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
AIR Caribou M83

More Artists From
United States - Washington

Other Genres You Will Love
Electronic: Electronica Pop: with Electronic Production Moods: Mood: Dreamy
There are no items in your wishlist.

Luxe Canyon

by Luxe Canyon

Debut album from Seattle natives and brothers Kyle and Matt Nielsen. Electronic Pop with shape-shifting vocals, enveloping synths, and dance-injected grooves. Harmonically rich and melodically infectious.
Genre: Electronic: Electronica
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Over the Railing, Into the Lion Pit
Share this song!
4:04 $0.99
2. The Finer Things
Share this song!
3:09 $0.99
3. Crucify
Share this song!
2:49 $0.99
4. Social Trust
Share this song!
2:34 $0.99
5. Younger Child
Share this song!
3:23 $0.99
6. Northfields
Share this song!
3:15 $0.99
7. Neon Bodies
Share this song!
3:38 $0.99
8. Reflex
Share this song!
4:05 $0.99
9. Venus Finlandia
Share this song!
7:07 $0.99
10. Moonlight Scalping
Share this song!
4:19 $0.99
11. Star-Stealing
Share this song!
3:42 $0.99
12. Substitute
Share this song!
3:22 $0.99
Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.


Album Notes
Luxe Canyon is, at its core, two brothers and Seattle natives, Kyle and Matt Nielsen. The band's origins can be traced back as far as 1995, when they were jamming daily in their parents' garage: Kyle on electric guitar and Matt on drums. Inspired by bands such as Smashing Pumpkins and Radiohead, they immediately were writing their own songs and making home recordings.

Gradually moving away from their alternative rock roots, they continually experimented with their own sound, drawing influence from My Bloody Valentine's "Loveless," Paul McCartney's "Ram," and Brian Wilson's original SMiLE sessions. Both brothers went on to study sound engineering and music theory in college, further improving their songwriting and recording abilities.

Having recorded over 200 songs and through countless band name changes (Orson and Buried Treasure to name just two), Luxe Canyon represents both the result of years of cultivating a unique style but also their more recent immersion into the world of electronic music and its endless possibilities.

Their self-titled debut album, recorded entirely at their home recording studio, is concise and meticulously constructed. The songs unfold with a range of stylistic and emotional complexity, at once discontented, transcendent, and sensual. This is not the work of beginners but rather just the first official offering from a duo who have dedicated nearly their entire lives to advancing their musical craft.

Album Credits:

All songs written, performed, recorded and mixed by Kyle Nielsen.

Background vocals on "Northfields" performed by Matt Nielsen.

Drums on "Reflex" by Matt Nielsen.

Assistant Engineer and Consultant: Matt Nielsen.

Artwork by Jake Knapp.

Thanks to Mom and Dad, Barb Decker, Ron Vasile, Tom Nielsen, Jake Knapp, Bing Martinez, EJ Oropeza, The Good Men and Thorough, Paul Blank, Tom Fallat, Matt Fordham, Jim Elenteny, Steve Malott, and all of our friends and family and everyone who has helped us, supported us, and believed in us over the years.


to write a review