Avis! | Self Contained

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Beyoncé Chaka Khan Stevie Wonder

Album Links
Audio Lunchbox Chondo MusicIsHere PayPlay Apple iTunes Official website Emusic GreatIndieMusic GroupieTunes My MySpace page Tradebit

More Artists From
United States - California - LA

Other Genres You Will Love
Urban/R&B: Rhythm & Blues Urban/R&B: Contemporary urban Moods: Solo Female Artist
There are no items in your wishlist.

Self Contained

by Avis!

Avis Harrell - Versatile. Funky. Melodious. Exciting. Entertaining. Soulful. Beautiful,. Just Plain Great.
Genre: Urban/R&B: Rhythm & Blues
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Share to Google +1

Tracks

Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.

To listen to tracks you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Sorry, there has been a problem playing the clip.

  song title
share
time
download
1. Stay
Share this song!
X
4:18 $0.99
2. All Over U
Share this song!
X
4:41 $0.99
3. Save Me
Share this song!
X
5:46 $0.99
4. Second Time
Share this song!
X
4:29 $0.99
5. Loves Lullaby
Share this song!
X
4:23 $0.99
6. Early Afternoon
Share this song!
X
4:48 $0.99
7. Cherish This Love
Share this song!
X
5:53 $0.99
8. Overheard
Share this song!
X
4:30 $0.99
9. Song of Songs
Share this song!
X
3:24 $0.99
10. This Time
Share this song!
X
4:46 $0.99
11. Happy
Share this song!
X
4:46 $0.99
12. You Can't Cash a Check
Share this song!
X
5:14 $0.99
13. Rock Drop (club Mix)
Share this song!
X
5:06 $0.99
14. Rock Drop (body) Radio Mix
Share this song!
X
5:08 $0.99
preview all songs

ABOUT THIS ALBUM


Album Notes



NEWS FLASH!!!!

NEW UPDATE: VISIT WWW.CDBABY.COMCD/AVIS2
FOR HER LATEST RELEASE
AVIS: “A TRIBUTE DEDICATED
TO OUR TROOPS”

A TRULY UNIQUE VOCALIST
Avis Harrell has never graced the cover of Vibe Magazine, Essence, Ebony, People or Rolling Stone, but what a treat the editors are missing. She is definitely cover material! This beautiful, soulful, funky diva has all the ingredients of a superstar. AVIS HARRELL has truly paid her dues in the music industry and is willing to pay more, because it is completely unacceptable for the world not to know what a magnificent comet that is passing through this Universe! She has much to offer in the way of versatility, stemming from her childhood musical upbringing. AVIS comes from a very musical family. She has studied with the best of the best and has been inspired by her Mother, Father, Sisters, Mia and Ayana, Brother Tim and many professionals. Yet I can truly say that she should take much of the responsibility for becoming all that she has become. Seeking apprenticeship with more established artists, AVIS did back up work, tours, and recordings with Ray Charles and Wayne Newton. KCET Television paid a tribute to Ray Charles and The Raelettes in concert filmed a few years before his passing in Canada with "The Edmondson Symphony Orchestra". During her two and a half tenure, AVIS recorded “America The Beautiful” with Ray Charles live at this concert. That DVD is in stores now.

While keeping busy and being the opportunist she is, AVIS then joined Wayne Newton's organization. When offered the job from Mr. Newton, she performed as the lead singer of his back up group, “The Jive Sisters” for two and a half years as well. The high point of her stint with Wayne Newton was a soul stirring beautifully stylized rendition of "Endless Love" on Jerry Lewis' Telethon filmed at Caesars' Palace. Having performed in the background long enough, AVIS emerged to the forefront with the polish of any seasoned performer. With high-energy choreography and showmanship that pleases audiences of all ages, AVIS has a voice that's like a finely tuned instrument and delivers song after song in her own powerful way. While giving props to a very supportive family and various coaches such as Leonard Reed and Seth Riggs, AVIS says that her Mother, Althea Harrell from Washington D.C. and her Sister Ayana Harrell in Los Angeles are still very instrumental in proofing her ideas once she has created a blueprint of what she wants to do. AVIS can now add another feather to her cap.

Along with being the complete entertainer, she has written, played, programmed and produced her entire album/CD project, "SELF CONTAINED". She made it a point to cover as many genres of music as possible, while doing them all extremely well. This project proves that AVIS is all that! She's a singer, entertainer, writer, musician and now producer of her own projects. After working with so many groups, she fashions herself to be one of the first female to have done it all solo. Some have even called her the "Queen of Versatility". AVIS has no problem with sharing the spot light since she has made such an impressionable mark in the industry being a supportive artist and singing background. But now it's her time to shine! AVIS is doing all she can to kick off her project "SELF CONTAINED", but knows that no man is an island.

AVIS would like the opportunity to record and perform with the dynamic Mr. Stevie Wonder who has been one of her mentors. Also, she would love to work with Quincy Jones and lastly another dream producer and management record company is to work with Mr. Clive Davis. If anyone out there has the inside line of connection, please ask them to contact her!!! According to all who have seen her and heard her, they will find she is all they are buzzing about! Who ever she is lucky to end up with will know AVIS is managers, record company and publicist's dream artist.

Now on the heels of “SELF CONTAINED”, Avis has just completed her latest project, “A DEDICATION TO OUR TROOPS”. Visit www.cdbaby.com/cd/avis2 to purchase this great piece of work and find out find out for yourself. The buzz has already started about these great CD’s and artist. For AVIS, "SELF CONTAINED" and “THE DEDICATION TO OUR TROOPS” is a personal statement that there is no limit to her multiple talents. These are CD’s that you will want to play again and again. So, take a listen and buy your copies today! CONTACT: Avis_Harrell@Yahoo.com
PURCHASE CD @
www.cdbaby.com/cd/avisharrell ww.myspace.com/avisharrell www.cdbaby.com/cd/2



===========================================================
UP COMING SHOW DATES:

05/17/2008 07:00 PM - Robinsons Entertainment Group Presents Avis and The Avis Harrell RnB/Jazz Crew
Place: The Blue Guitar
PALM SPRINGS, California US Cost:TBA
Date: Saturday May 17, 2008 Robinsons Entertainment does it again with a fun filled weekend in Palms Springs.
Three Comfortable luxury airconditioned bus liners cruise our group of 150 fly singles to this beautiful resort every year where we enjoy the exciting, soulful entertainment provided by Ms. Avis Harrell who has been a favorite for the past 10 years. One price includes your hotel, travel and our scrumptious buffet dinner. Shopping, spas, dining, or chilling with The Robinsons Entertainment Group. We do this every year so round up your girlfriends and guy friends and leave the driving to us for weekend get-away to start the Summer. To purchase your tickets in advance and for more details, contact Hank Robinson at (323) 751-4265 or visit www.robinsonentertainment.com



SUNDAY AUGUST 26, 2007
6:00 PM to 9:00 PM - Stevies on The Strip 16911 Ventura Blvd., Encino, CA 91311 Stevies on The Strip and The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra present AVIS! W/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra - 3 Shows! NO COVER An R&B, Jazz, and Pop, Musical Experience of a Lifetime!
INTERNATIONALLY KNOWN ARTIST AVIS! FORMER LEAD SINGER OF WAYNENEWTON ONE OF RAY CHARLES RAELETTES FORMER MISS BLACK AMERICA D.C. WHO BEGAN HER CAREER WITH THE SISTER SENSATION GROUP OUT OF WASHINGTON D.C. THE FAWNS
Telephone: (818) 528-3500 Dress Attire: Upscale - LA Fresh! Dinner and/or Drink Minimum Required (Early Arrival Strongly Suggested
================
SEPTEMBER 14TH – 17TH 2007
ROSARITA BEACH MEXICO
Come and take a Soul ride with The Robinson’s Entertainment Group to their Summer Jazz Beach Fest. This is the perfect Summer Get-a-way in Rosarita Beach Mexico where we will dine, party and relaxes in beautiful condos. Music by Avis Harrell who has been a favorite for the past 10 years. Go alone, meet new friends, or get your package deal. For more information contact Hank Robinson at www.robinsonsentertainment.com or call at (323) 751-4265 and make your reservations today.
=========================================================================

Sunday October 28, 2007
2:00 PM to 6:00 PM - Robinson’s Entertainment - 14th Annual Scholarship Affair @ The Crystal Rose Restaurant & Night Club LOCATED: 9300 Jefferson Blvd, Culver City, 90232 Hank Robinson and Robinson's Entertainment will have a Scholarship show review for education, Featuring R&B/Jazz sensation AVIS! In concert along with KEISHA POTTER, PAUNCHO WILLIAMS , AND VARIOUS ARTIST. THIS IS A DINNER AND BENEFIT AT THE BEAUTIFUL "CRYSTAL ROSE" RESTUARANT AND NIGHT CLUB. DON'T MISS IT! WHERE THE PARTY NEVER STOPS! For more details - e-mail Hank at www.robinsonentertainment.com or e-mail Avis at Avis_Harrell@Yahoo.com

=======================================================================
PAST SHOW EVENTS
SUNDAY APRIL 15 2007
6:00 PM to 9:00 PM - Stevies on The Strip 16911 Ventura Blvd., Encino, CA 91311 Stevies on The Strip and The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra present AVIS! W/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra - 3 Shows! NO COVER An R&B, Jazz, and Pop, Musical Experience of a Lifetime!
INTERNATIONALLY KNOWN ARTIST AVIS! FORMER LEAD SINGER OF WAYNENEWTON ONE OF RAY CHARLES RAELETTES FORMER MISS BLACK AMERICA D.C. WHO BEGAN HER CAREER WITH THE SISTER SENSATION GROUP OUT OF WASHINGTON D.C. THE FAWNS
Telephone: (818) 528-3500 Dress Attire: Upscale - LA Fresh! Dinner and/or Drink Minimum Required (Early Arrival Strongly Suggested
=================
WEDNESDAY NOVEMBER 26, 2006 - MONDAY 11/04/06 - Papeete Tahiti - French Polynesia - Avis Harrell & The Tropical Combo Band at The Le Merridain
=================

SATURDAY DECEMBER 9, 2006
GENGHIS COHEN IS PROUD TO PRESENT
AVIS HARRELL – ONE SHOW ONLY
LOCATED: 740 N. FAIRFAX AVE.
LOS ANGELES, CA 90046
CLUB – (323) 653-0640
=================

SUNDAY 11/05/06 Time: 2:00 PM to 6:00 PM - Robinson’s Entertainment - 12th Annual Scholarship Affair @ The Crystal Rose Restaurant & Night Club LOCATED: 9300 Jefferson Blvd, Culver City, 90232 Hank Robinson and Robinson's Entertainment will have a Scholarship show review for education, Featuring R&B/Jazz sensation AVIS! In concert along with MEKIEL RUBINS AND PAUNCHO WILLIAMS ON SAXOPHONE. THIS IS A DINNER AND BENEFIT FEATURING 3 PERFORMING ARTIST AT THE BEAUTIFUL "CRYSTAL ROSE" RESTUARANT AND NIGHT CLUB. DON'T MISS IT!WHERE THE PARTY NEVER STOPS! For more details - e-mail Hank at www.robinsonentertainment.com or e-mail Avis at Avis_Harrell@Yahoo.com

=================
Friday 09/08/06 08:00 PM - The Belage' Hotel
1020 San Vicente Blvd, W. Los Angeles, CA 90069 - The Belage Hotel & J.D. Kessler Presents!!!!! Avis Harrell & The 360 Degrees Band Date: Friday September 8, 2006 Show Times: 8:00 P.M. & 10:00 P.M. Address: 1020 San Vicente Blvd. W. Los Angeles, CA 90069 Telephone: (310) 654-1111 Dress Attire: Upscale - LA Fresh! Dinner and/or Drink Minimum Required (Early Arrival Strongly Suggested) Call for reservations today! For more information about AVIS! And her latest release, SELF CONTAINED go to: www.avisharrell.com to order directly/ or you can order it at www.cdbaby.com/cd/avis
For Booking Contact: Avis_Harrell@Yahoo.com
=================
Sunday 09/17/06 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM - Stevies on The Strip 16911 Ventura Blvd., Encino, CA 91311 - Sunday August 13, 2006 Stevies on The Strip and The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra present AVIS! W/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra - 3 Shows! NO COVER An R&B, Jazz, and Pop, Musical Experience of a Lifetime!
INTERNATIONALLY KNOWN ARTIST AVIS! FORMER LEAD SINGER OF WAYNENEWTON ONE OF RAY CHARLES RAELETTES FORMER MISS BLACK AMERICA D.C. WHO BEGAN HER CAREER WITH THE SISTER SENSATION GROUP OUT OF WASHINGTON D.C. THE FAWNS
Telephone: (818) 528-3500 Dress Attire: Upscale - LA Fresh! Dinner and/or Drink Minimum Required (Early Arrival Strongly Suggested)
=================
Friday 05/26/07 – 05/ 27/07 - Robinsons Entertainment Presents Avis! And The 360 Degrees Band in beautiful Palm Springs CA at The Blue Guitar. For more information visit www.robinsonentertainment.com Book your rooms today!
=================
Wednesday, 09/20/06 – 09/24/06 LAS VEGAS!
=================
Sunday 08/27/06 5:00 P.M. - The Pasadena Jazz Festival w/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra
=================
Sunday 08/13/06 06:00 PM - Stevies on The Strip16911 Ventura Blvd., Encino, CA 91311 - Sunday August 13, 2006 Stevies on The Strip and The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra present AVIS! W/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra - 3 Shows! NO COVER An R&B, Jazz, and Pop, Musical Experience of a Lifetime! INTERNATIONALLY KNOWN ARTIST AVIS! FORMER LEAD SINGER OF WAYNENEWTON ONE OF RAY CHARLES RAELETTES FORMER MISS BLACK AMERICA D.C. WHO BEGAN HER CAREER WITH THE SISTER SENSATION GROUP OUT OF WASHINGTON D.C. THE FAWNS Show Times: 6:00 P.M. & 9:00 P.M. Address: 16911 Ventura Blvd. Encino, CA 91316 Telephone: (818) 528-3500 Dress Attire: Upscale - LA Fresh! Dinner and/or Drink Minimum Required (Early Arrival Strongly Suggested)

Call for reservations today! Great Fun! Great Food! And Great Entertainment! Hope to see you there!! Contact Information: For more information about AVIS! And here her latest release, SELF CONTAINED go to: www.avisharrell.com For Booking Or to order directly from Avis go to Avis_Harrell@Yahoo.com or you other sites www.cdbaby.com/cd/avis www.indierhythm.com/product.php?cdid=95
=================

Sunday 07/16/06 6: PM – 9:00 P.M. STEVIE’S ON THE STRIP w/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra -Dinner and or Drink Minimum
=================

Sunday 06/25/06 6:00 PM – 9:00 PMSTEVIE’S ON THE STRIP w/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra - Dinner and or Drink Minimum
=================

Friday 05/05/06 8:00 PM – 11:00 P.M. The Belage Hotel
1020 San Vicente Blvd, W. Los Angeles, CA 90069 - The Belage Hotel & J.D. Kessler Presents!!!!! Avis Harrell & The 360 Degrees Band Date: Friday September 8, 2006 Show Times: 8:00 P.M. & 10:00 P.M. Address: 1020 San Vicente Blvd. W. Los Angeles, CA 90069 Telephone: (310) 654-1111 Dress Attire: Upscale - LA Fresh! Dinner and/or Drink Minimum Required (Early Arrival Strongly Suggested)
=================

Sunday 04/09/06 6:00 PM - The Crystal Rose Restaurant & Night Club LOCATED: 9300 Jefferson Blvd, Culver City , 90232, $40.00ROBINSONS ENTERTAINMENT PRESENTS a Scholarship show review for education featuring R&B/Jazz sensation AVIS! IN CONCERT along with 5 other performing artist APPEARING ALSO WILL BE PAUL RUSSO (ON SAXOPHONE) AND FRIENDS, MEKIEL RUBINS, AND COMPANY AND MS. KEISHA POTTER ON SAXOIPHONE. THIS IS A DINNER AND BENEFIT FEATURING 5 PERFORMING ARTIST AT THE BEAUTIFUL "CRYSTAL ROSE" RESTUARANT AND NIGHT CLUB. DON'T MISS IT!
Sunday 03/12/06
STEVIE’S ON THE STRIP 6:00 P.M. – 9:00 P.M. w/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra
Dinner and or Drink Minimum
=================
Sunday 01/29/06
STEVIE’S ON THE STRIP 6:00 P.M. – 9:00 P.M. w/ The Jimmy McConnell Orchestra
Dinner and or Drink Minimum
Contact Information: For Booking or more information about AVIS! And her latest release, “SELF CONTAINED” see web site www.avisharrell.com or to communicate with AVIS at Avis_Harrell@Yahoo.comor to order CD directly here at www.avisharrell@cdbaby.com/cd/avis or http://www.indierhythm.com/product.php?cdId=95


Reviews


to write a review

Ms.Soulful -Tanisha Jackson

I really love the entire set, and I marvel at the fact that from A to Z, you did
I GOT THE PACKAGE! And I am so impressed. And I thought, "whoa!" And then, the packaging is LOVELY. Then I popped the CDs in, and I love the album EVEN more. "Self Contained" can easily serve as the soundtrack of my life right now, and I'm sure a lot of women would agree. I really love the entire set, and I marvel at the fact that from A to Z, you did it ALL! So far, my favorites are Stay, All Over U, Love's Lullaby, Early Afternoon, and Cherish This Love, but it's really a CD that I can let ride. The samples on your web page don't really show off all this album has in store for the listners. I love your theme of "MODERN WOMEN" that kind that runs through the whole thing! EXCELLENT! As for the Live In Tahiti CD, I LOVE it! Your renditions of these songs are so great, and I think your arrangement of "My Funny Valentine" is so incredibly unique. I'm SO excited, Ms. A. You are a consummate pro!!

I hope things move forward for you because I think your artistry should be known all over!!

All the best of Luck to you!
Tanisha

G. Mackey

Hot!!
Avis' music is hot and so is she! My new favorite is Early Afternoon.

RHgraphic Designs

Laid Back Sound
Self Contained is an awesome album and we as an RHgraphic Design Staff reccomend everyone to buy this album. RHgraphic Designs would like to become your #1 Top Quality Designer; we will deliver the highest quality pieces to you. RHgraphic Designs (The Multimedia Design Firm) proudly gives you 5 Stars.

Keep up the good work Avis

Sincerely,
RHgraphic Designs Staff

Mark Johnson

One of Hottest CD's I've heard this year. It has every element.
Avis,

This is an old friend of yours from way back on 22nd st. in parklands.
Mark Johnson.

I just wanted to say how proud I am of you and all of your
accomplishments. I have been listening to your CD and its fantastic, you are truly a Superstar and have grown into a (very fine) young woman. Melodie often mentions you singing at Garfield elementary school when you were just a baby and you brought down the house then and according to your web site you are still doing it.

Let me know when you will be in the area. I would love to see you perform LIVE. It's a wonderful thing to be living your dreams; very few people get that opportunity in life. Stay strong, and Keep the faith, a Friend and Fan of yours,

Mark D. Johnson

PS, Also tell Ayana and Mia I said Hi.

Cynthia Hopkins

Avis has it going on! 5 Stars plus!!
Avis, Buddy shared your CD with me and I just love it !!!.....it's amazing how you put it all together like that....I'm truly impressed !!!!......I pray that God will bless this CD and places it in the right hands....I know God will continually reward you with more success and happiness in your career !!!....you deserve nothing but the best for all of your hard work, passion, drive and talents that you untirlying share with others everyday....I love you and I will come with Buddy on December 22nd at Monsoons Cafe' to your listening party to support you and this great piece of creative work of yours....peace & kiss-kiss, Cynt :-)

Ken Wibecan

I'm usually strictly a jazz buff, and think Avis will do well in either arena, b
It is interesting that I get CD’s regularly that present new artists that aren't nearly as good as you. How do they get through the door? Hope all goes well with you. Congrats!!!--wish I was in Tahiti!
All the best!
Ken Wibecan
SOUNDCHECK
Lake Champlain Weekly News

Buddy Hopkins

I love "ROCK DROP"!. This CD deserves some major attention.
Avis, tell Tim I love "ROCK DROP" too. I love your
vocal performance on it. I don't see why your material
would not get a shot on the radio air. It's so good
and commercial. I'll be praying for your success with
this CD because it deserves some major attention. It's got that something that all people like! . (-: Again Avis, I'm really enjoying your new music.
Luv ya, BUDDY

Carolyn Fox

Second Time is wonderful Avis as is the rest of the album.
Dear Avis,

What a pleasure it was meeting you yesterday.
This Friday, KHZ Radio will play "Second Time" from your new "Self Contained!" CD. It's the third song of the show. I also mentioned that listeners could hear you sing live at Stevie's on the Strip in Encino and to check your web site for dates.

"KHZ Radio with Carolyn Fox" airs every Friday at midnight on 1580 AM in Los Angeles, and is now playing in heavy rotation in Ocean City-Salisbury, Maryland on 1590 AM.

Thank you for your support and for allowing KHZ Radio broadcast your commercial radio debut,

Carolyn Fox
KHZ Radio
5723 Melrose Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90038
rbcstudios@sbcglobal.net

Nick Fresh

Good job on Self Contained
Avis is truly talented. The main thing I was shocked about is that she was behind that 1981 burner Sugar Frosted Lover by Flakes. I stumbled upon that jam a few years ago, and saved it on a mp3 disc. I remember how jamming it was. Right on! Good job on Self Contained and keep up the good work!

Nick FRESH

Spooky at Chicano Magazine

Ms. Avis, you are the complete package!
Ms. Avis, you are the complete package. Not only your voice, writing talent, and performance, but you are in magnificent shape. You do wonders for that outfit on your cd cover and lady, you've got legs for dayzzz!
1 2