Michael Whittaker | Southern Exposure

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Chick Corea Herbie Hancock Oscar Peterson

More Artists From
United States - Tennessee

Other Genres You Will Love
Jazz: Contemporary Jazz Jazz: Jazz Fusion Moods: Instrumental
There are no items in your wishlist.

Southern Exposure

by Michael Whittaker

The much anticipated new album from contemporary Jazz giant Michael Whittaker, Southern Exposure is an artistic exploration featuring some of the finest musicians on today's Jazz scene including: Keith Carlock, Adam Nitti, Tom Hemby and Jeff Coffin.
Genre: Jazz: Contemporary Jazz
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Kindred Spirits
Share this song!
7:24 $1.29
2. Nitti Gritty
Share this song!
7:04 $1.29
3. Give Me Six
Share this song!
5:16 $1.29
4. Take the High Rhodes
Share this song!
5:21 $1.29
5. Emancipation
Share this song!
4:58 $1.29
6. Africa
Share this song!
5:06 $1.29
7. Freedom Jazz Dance
Share this song!
7:33 $1.29
8. Southern Exposure
Share this song!
5:27 $1.29
Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.


Album Notes
Michael Whittaker is a unique hybrid of his diverse upbringing. A native of Los Angeles California Michael grew up listening to a diverse culture of music. At a young age, his training on piano began in both jazz and classical music. By his early twenties he had already begun to mold his own identifiable sound and was one of Los Angeles’ most sought after sidemen.

After attending UCLA’s school of music and majoring in film scoring, Michael has utilized his classical training and knowledge of orchestration to compose music for over 300 television episodes and TV movies including the popular Power Rangers and Ninja Turtles. Currently Michael is independently scoring and producing for companies like Disney, Sony, NBC and Lions Gate Films.

In 2011 his composition "Brand New Day" was chosen as the main theme of the new Disney Family Movie channel and recent projects include work for the Cleveland Indians of Major League Baseball and the NFL Tennessee Titans.

Michael's orchestration and keyboard skill have also won him many awards and recognition such as a 2011 Emmy nomination for best original music, a Telly award for his score to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles series, the Bank of America Musical Achievement award, International Association of Jazz Educators player excellence award, and the Clarence Brown Memorial scholarship for jazz.

Michael’s experience in many styles, has allowed him to work with many notable artists including Lionel Richie, Jimmy Kimmel Live house band, Paulina Rubio, Wayman Tisdale, 98 Degrees, Cake, Boyd Tinsley from the Dave Mathews Band, Brenda Russell, and many others…

Notable shows and films Michael’s music is featured in are Americas Next Top Model, Funniest Pets and Animals, A&E Toby Keith Documentary, Battleground Earth, Best Damn Sports, Biography of Tiger Woods, Dr 90210, Gene Simmons Family Jewels, Leprechaun 6, Modern Marvels, Naruto Movie, Xyber 9 New Dawn, Access Hollywood, X Men Marvel Cartoon, The New Addams Family, The Power Rangers, The Ninja Turtles, Americas Most Wanted, Action Man and Nobel Peace Awards 2000 theme.

Now living in Nashville TN, Michael splits time between his work as a composer/producer and preforming with his own groups the Michael Whittaker Band and Trio Massive (featuring Bassist Adam Nitti and Drummer Kirk Covington).

His much anticipated new album “Southern Exposure” was released in October 2012. It is a humanitarian effort from some of the top musicians in Nashville to raise money to bring clean water to impoverished areas of Africa. Southern Exposure features some of the worlds finest musicians including Keith Carlock (Steely Dan, John Mayer, James Taylor), Adam Nitti (Stephen Curtis Chapman, Michael W. Smith, Dave Weckl Band), Tom Hemby (Amy Grant, Vince Gill, Michael McDonald), and Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band, Bela Fleck & the Flecktones, Jeff Coffin Mutet).


to write a review