Powderhouse | Through the Air

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Aimee Mann Kathleen Edwards Liz Phair

Album Links
Bandcamp Facebook Band Website Electronic Press Kit (EPK) on Sonicbids

More Artists From
United States - Mass. - Boston

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock Pop: Pop/Rock Moods: Mood: Upbeat
There are no items in your wishlist.

Through the Air

by Powderhouse

"Through The Air" is the new EP from the Boston-based rock band Powderhouse. It combines strong songwriting, passionate female vocals, solid arrangements and strong performances.
Genre: Rock: Adult Alternative Pop/Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
cd-rp in stock order now
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Sheepskin Hollow
Share this song!
4:14 album only
2. Achilles
Share this song!
3:36 album only
3. Slow Motion
Share this song!
4:00 album only
4. Dear Georgia
Share this song!
3:47 album only
5. Gotta Be With You
Share this song!
3:51 album only
6. Don't Let Me Down Again
Share this song!
4:02 album only
Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.


Album Notes
Arranged and performed by Powderhouse:
Teresa Mastrorilli: Lead and Backup Vocals, Electric Rhythm Guitar, Acoustic Guitar;
Kevin Moylan: Drums, Percussion;
Ray Boyce: Bass, Backup Vocals, 6 & 12 String Electric Guitars, Acoustic Guitar;
Art DaPrato: Piano, Organ;
Fred Pickard: Lead and Rhythm Electric Guitars, Backup Vocals.

All songs written by Teresa Mastrorilli (BMI), except track #3 (music by Teresa Mastrorili & Art DaPrato and lyrics by Teresa Mastrorili).
Recorded and mixed by Ray Boyce at FOC Studios, Newton MA, 2011-2012.
Mastered by Tom Waltz at Waltz Mastering, Watertown MA, Nov. 2012.
Produced by Ray Boyce.

Copyright 2012 Powderhouse and FOC Records. All Rights Reserved.
UPC Code: 884501832878
Release/catalog number: FOC1201
released 13 November 2012

FOC Records is proud to announce the release of "Through The Air", the new EP from the Boston-based rock band Powderhouse. The new album, available as both a CD and a download starting Nov. 13 2012, is comprised of 6 original songs written by lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist Teresa Mastrorilli. With a sound that combines alt-country, garage rock, power-pop and classic rock, Powderhouse sounds like a band that has combination of Kathleen Edwards, Liz Phair and Beth Orton fronting Tom Petty’s Heartbreakers. Produced by multi-instrumentalist Ray Boyce, the album was recorded and mixed by Ray at FOC Studios in Newton MA and mastered by Tom Waltz at Waltz Mastering in Watertown MA.

On the new EP, the band displays a maturity, fluidity and diversity that only years of playing together can produce. The opening track, “Sheepskin Hollow”, is reminiscent of the Laurel Canyon sound of the 70’s, while both “Achilles” and “Slow Motion” reveals the band's roots in the alternative rock scene of the 90’s. The band then seamlessly switches gear with the country twang of “Dear Georgia”. The album closes with the power-pop shimmer of “Gotta Be With You” and “Don’t Let Me Down Again”. Teresa feels that these are some of the best songs she’s ever written, and the band plays with confidence and energy, which is reflected in the album’s tight arrangements and self-assured performances. Here’s what Jonny Katz of UnRegularRadio had to say after the band previewed the new album during a recent on-air performance:

“I may be a huge fan of bands with women singers, but when it comes to Powderhouse I like them as much as any band. Powderhouse is an Indie Rock band that could ride the edge of a few other genres as well, extremely talented and hard to turn off, they will be playing on my iPhone for a while.”

Powderhouse first came together at the end of 2006, when Teresa approached the veteran rhythm section of Kevin Moylan and Ray Boyce (x-Returnables, x-The New Thirty) to help her record some of her songs. Things went so well that they decided to form a band. Powderhouse played their debut gig to a packed house at P.A.’s Lounge in Somerville in May of 2007, and since then has played very successful shows at top clubs throughout the Boston area, including Church, Precinct, T.T. the Bear’s Place, Davis Square Theatre, Oliver's Nightclub, All Asia Bar, Copperfield's and Bill’s Bar. After adding lead guitarist Fred Pickard and keyboardist Art DaPrato to the line-up in 2008, Powderhouse started recording their full-length debut album, "In The Meantime" (released July 2010 and available on CD Baby, iTunes, Amazon MP3, eMusic, Spotify and elsewhere). The track "Keeping My Heart" was voted onto the Top 5 Local Song Poll on WZLX/Boston Emissions for 4 straight weeks and songs from the album received airplay on both terrestrial and Internet radio. Positive reviews of the album appeared in The Deli Magazine, Metronome Magazine, WomensRadio Music Review and elsewhere. Powderhouse has twice been selected to play the International Pop Overthrow Festival (2009 & 2010) and was featured as the "Soundtrack" artist of the day on "The Morning Show" on NECN Television in February of 2011. Several Powderhouse songs were also placed in the soundtrack of the independent film "Wingman", which had its world premiere in May of 2011.

The band celebrates the release of the new EP with a CD Release Party at The Hard Rock Cafe in Boston MA on Saturday Dec. 1st 2012. Powderhouse is planning on more gigs in and around the Northeast during the coming year in order to support the new release. For more information, please contact Teresa Mastrorilli at powderhouseband@gmail.com.



to write a review