Sean Mendelson & Friends | The Change

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Dave Mathews Band Death Cab for Cutie Muse

More Artists From
United States - California - SF

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Rock opera Rock: Adult Contemporary Moods: Mood: Intellectual
There are no items in your wishlist.

The Change

by Sean Mendelson & Friends

Concept Rock Opera Album - After the fall of man, brought on by apocalyptic climate change, the survivors attempt to co-exist with one another and the Earth.
Genre: Rock: Rock opera
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Moments Away
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
3:55 $0.99
2. Wash
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
3:02 $0.99
3. The Call
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
2:57 $0.99
4. Sides
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
3:23 $0.99
5. Disconnect
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
3:21 $0.99
6. The Earth Does Not Belong to Us
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
3:26 $0.99
7. Driven Mad
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
1:47 $0.99
8. Last Song
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
3:03 $0.99
9. Sides (Bonus Track) [Extended Duet Version]
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
3:44 album only
10. Logan Rocks (Twinkle, Twinkle)
Sean Mendelson & Friends
Share this song!
1:13 album only
Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.


Album Notes
Sean Mendelson wrote this album as an artistic response to his concerns about the effects of climate change. Part call to action, part rock opera, all musical brilliance, "The Change" examines the aftermath of such an apocalypse and how the survivors might learn from our mistakes. Music enthusiasts may notice that each song is in a different mode all related to the first song's key. Soon to be a major motion picture, this album is a compilation of songs that will be heard in the production.

Track 1, "Moments Away": A world struggles with the loss of billions of people. Those that remain are grateful to be alive but confused about how to move forward.
Track 2, "Wash": A man and woman have a romantic encounter while surrounded by the natural elements they have come to cherish.
Track 3, "The Call": A group of people worship the earth and they are optimistic about what this new world offers.
Track 4, "Sides": A man questions those who would throw off earth's delicate balance by using Sludge. Sludge is a new oil that some believe will bring prosperity to the community.
Track 5, "Disconnect": People dance with unbridled freedom. Perhaps they get too lost in the groove.
Track 6, "The Earth Does not Belong to Us": A man expands on an Iroquois belief that we need to take care of the planet, mindful of seven generations in the future.
Track 7, "Driven Mad": A man at odds with himself over protecting the planet and caring for his family.
Track 8, "Last Song": The uplifting or tragic coming to terms with giving up the fight for the environment.
Track 9, "Sides Duet" (Bonus): Alternative version mirroring film presentation.
Track 10, "Logan Rocks Twinkle, Twinkle" (Bonus): To be featured in the film, from a 4 year old character's perspective.

Recorded at Bones and Knives in San Jose California ( and produced by Sean Mendelson and Terry Carleton, May - August 2012.

Sean Mendelson: rhythm guitar on all tracks, banjo on Moments Away, and lead vocals on Driven Mad, wave drum and stir xylophone on The Earth Does Not Belong to Us

Kevin Hull: lead vocalist on all tracks except Wash & Disconnect, piano on Sides.

Lisa Trevorrow: lead vocals on Wash

Carl Nickolas: lead vocals on Disconnect

Brad Okamoto: violin on Moments Away, Sides, The Earth Does Not Belong to Us and Driven Mad, saxophone on Moments Away and Disconnect, mandolin on Wash

Terry Carleton: bass and drums on all tracks, orchestra bells on Sides, lead vocal on Sides(bonus track)

Kevin Greenwood: harmonica on Disconnect and Last Song

Jim Macdonald: electric guitar on Moments Away, lead guitar on Wash, The Call, Sides, The Earth Does Not Belong to Us, and Driven Mad.

Logan Mendelson (four year old son of Sean): lead guitar on Logan Rocks Twinkle, Twinkle.

Everyone contributed background vocals but i lost track of where.

Much love to the talented support on this album. First and foremost, thanks to my wife, Katie, my kids, Jillian and Logan. Also, thanks to my parents and the rest of my extended family and friends. Thanks to Brad for helping me polish this baby nicely. Thanks to Randy Hansen for his guidance and demo recording. Thanks to my brother Jason for technical support. Thanks to Sheldon for guidance. See you in the movies!

e-mail for lyrics and other information.
(c) 2012 Seany Baby Music


to write a review

Randy J. Hansen

Tight set
A very tight set of well-crafted and musically adventurous songs. Though thematically about a bleak subject (a post-apocaliptic world) joyful noise predominates every track, with spot-on musicianship and excellent production. The highlight of the work is "Disconnect" with it's pure-funk groove and driving delivery. A fine effort from a fine songwriter.