Spoons | Nova Heart EP 30th Anniversary

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
David Bowie OMD Roxy Music

More Artists From
CANADA - Ontario

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: 80's Rock Pop: New Romantic Moods: Featuring Guitar
There are no items in your wishlist.

Nova Heart EP 30th Anniversary

by Spoons

Spoons are a Canadian New Wave new wave, synth, pop band formed in 1979. Their most popular songs include "Nova Heart", "Romantic Traffic", "Nova Heart", "Old Emotions" and "Tell No Lies".
Genre: Rock: 80's Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
cd in stock order now
Share to Google +1


Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.

To listen to tracks you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Sorry, there has been a problem playing the clip.

  song title
1. Nova Heart (Original Single)
Share this song!
4:24 $0.99
2. Nova Heart (Dark Before Dawn Mix)
Share this song!
6:06 $0.99
3. Nova Heart (Singularity Mix)
Share this song!
6:35 $0.99
4. Nova Heart (Live At Barrymore's)
Share this song!
6:00 $0.99
5. Nova Heart (Original Demo 1981)
Share this song!
3:48 $0.99
6. Nova Heart (12" Extended Mix)
Share this song!
6:38 $0.99
preview all songs


Album Notes
The Spoons began with the coming of the 1980's; a modest group of four suburban kids from Burlington, Ontario, who became the country's new wave/techno-pop sweethearts.

The four founding members of the band were Gordon Deppe, Sandy Horne, Peter Shepherd and Brett Wickens who formed the band in high school in 1979.

Shepherd left the band before the Spoons recorded their first single “After The Institution/My Job" in 1980. The songs were released on the Mannequin label, which was created by Paul Abrahams (the band's manager) and Wickens. Shepherd was later replaced by Derek Ross.

The band soon gained the attention of record labels and this led to some internal disagreements and Wickens soon left to form his own band. Wickens was replaced by Rob Preuss just prior to the recording of their first album for Ready Records. The album was titled ‘Stick Figure Neighbourhood’ and was recorded in Hamilton, Ontario by a then unknown engineer by the name of Daniel Lanois!

The album attracted the attention of college radio, garnered rave press reviews and generated successful college chart activity. Their follow-up was the widely acclaimed 'Arias & Symphonies' (also on Ready and distributed by A+M). It was produced by John Punter who had been working with Roxy Music and Bryan Ferry and was an engineer at Air Studios in London. John came to know of the band when he came to Canada to do sound for Japan at their Ryerson Theatre shows. ‘Arias and Symphonies’ spawned the single "Nova Heart". This prompted the band's first music video, which led to major TV exposure and commercial radio success.

In 1983, Ready Records decided to pull out all the stops and hire Nile Rogers (Chic, David Bowie) to produce their follow-up album called 'Talkback'. More radio hits emerged, "Tell No Lies", "Old Emotions" and "Romantic Traffic".

During this period, Deppe, Horne and Preuss recorded the soundtrack to the Ron Mann movie, 'Listen To The City'. By this time Ready Records folded, leaving the band without a recording contract and two less members. Derek Ross left to pursue a career in the music field and Rob Preuss went on to work with Perfect World and Honeymoon Suite before moving to New York where he is currently associate music director/keyboardist for Mama Mia on Broadway.

Deppe and Horne continued on with the new line-up of Steve Kendry (drums) and Scott Macdonald (vocals/keyboards) to release 'Bridges Over Borders' on Rush's Anthem label. By 1988 the band was receiving notable airplay with 'Vertigo Tango'.

The band continued to play periodically over the years with Deppe, Horne and Kendry remaining and Steve Sweeney joining on keyboards.

1994 saw the release of MCA/Universal's package called 'Collectible Spoons' and when that title was deleted many years later Angus MacKay at Ready Records created a new "best of" CD called ‘Limited Edition’ [2008] and also re-released ‘TalkBack' in 2010 via Sparks/Ready Records/EMI.

Winding forward to the present Sparks Music and Ready Records are about to celebrate the 30th Anniversary of two of the bands most successful releases.

The digital release of Nova Heart EP (March 26, 2012) which includes the quintessential 1982 album version, the moody, ethereal "Dark Before Dawn" mix; plus the driving, electronica/dubstep "Singularity" mix (both recorded and mixed by producer Jeff Carter); as well as the rare pre-release demo recording from 1981, the 12" extended mix of Nova Heart remixed by John Punter and a live version of the song recorded by CHEZ-FM at Barrymore’s in Ottawa.

The band are also working with the folks at Sparks Music on a special 30th Anniversary version of the ‘Arias and Symphonies’ album complete with new liner notes, historical photos and live tracks. This is set to be released in the fall of 2012!

The Spoons continue to tour to this day in support of their newest release ‘Static in Transmission’ [2011]. The current line-up includes Gordon Deppe and Sandy Horne with Casey MQ on keyboards and Chris McNeill on drums.


to write a review