Strokeland Superband | Bumped Up to First Class

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Edgar Winter Huey Lewis Tower of Power

Album Links
Strokeland Records Official Website

More Artists From
United States - California - SF

Other Genres You Will Love
Urban/R&B: Soul Urban/R&B: Funk Moods: Featuring Saxophone
There are no items in your wishlist.

Bumped Up to First Class

by Strokeland Superband

Legendary Tower of Power founding member, Stephen 'Doc' Kupka presents a smoking collection of East Bay Soul music featuring Edgar Winter, Huey Lewis, Lydia Pense (Cold Blood), John Lee Sanders, Fred Ross, and Frank Biner on lead vocals.
Genre: Urban/R&B: Soul
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Sign up for the CD Baby Newsletter
Your email address will not be sold for any reason.
Continue Shopping
just a few left.
order now!
Buy 2 or more of this title and get 10% off
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. It Is What It Is
Share this song!
5:38 $0.99
2. I’d Do It All Over Again
Share this song!
4:04 $0.99
3. Colin Powell
Share this song!
3:51 $0.99
4. All Of The Above
Share this song!
5:28 $0.99
5. Business Is Business
Share this song!
5:10 $0.99
6. Plug Into Me
Share this song!
4:58 $0.99
7. Must Be Love
Share this song!
4:37 $0.99
8. Just In Case You Wondered (“Big Dog”)
Share this song!
4:26 $0.99
9. Public Truth and Private Lie
Share this song!
4:55 $0.99
10. It’s A Done Deal
Share this song!
5:02 $0.99
11. A Soulful Kinda Love
Share this song!
5:18 $0.99
12. Bumped Up To First Class
Share this song!
5:38 $0.99
Available as MP3, MP3 320, and FLAC files.


Album Notes
The Strokeland Superband is back with their anxiously awaited new release, Bumped Up to First Class, featuring 12 new tunes co-written by Stephen ‘Doc’ Kupka and a few of his talented friends.

Best known as a founding member of Tower of Power and a prodigious songwriter, Doc has once again pulled together the best of the best for this Strokeland Records release. Founded in 1998, Strokeland Records has become the launch pad for the Strokeland Superband, a project featuring a revolving set of world-class musicians with ties to Tower of Power and other Strokeland bands.

Bumped Up to First Class is the Strokeland Superband returning to its roots. Doc’s original formula of “sharing the musical goodies” with big names has come around again, much to the delight of the fans. The album opens with the funky “It Is What It Is,” sung by legendary frontman Edgar Winter, featuring a kick-ass Hammond B-3 solo by Chester Thompson of Tower of Power and Santana fame. “Colin Powell” takes an upbeat, tongue-in-cheek approach to our current political situation by asking “When will Colin Powell write his tell-all book?” The album also features several ballads. “All of the Above” is a love song to that special someone thanking them for all of their positive attributes. “Soulful Kind of Love” brings to mind some of the classic ballads that have made Doc one of the most memorable songwriters of his generation. The rest of the album contains a plethora of amazing tunes that are guaranteed to get you on your feet. You’ll find a mixture of soul, blues, Latin, and funk that gets your feet tapping, your fingers snapping, and your head bobbing. Doc has wowed us again with his ability to modulate at any time, in any direction, and be completely interesting musically.

Working with co-producer and former Tower of Power guitarist Jeff Tamelier, Doc has assembled a stellar group of artists to record this new musical endeavor. Doc credits Jeff with bringing together all of this talent and making it cohesive. Bumped Up to First Class features outstanding lead vocals by Mike Finnigan (Crosby, Stills and Nash), Huey Lewis (Huey Lewis & the News), Alex Ligertwood (Santana), Lydia Pense (Lydia Pense & Cold Blood), Fred Ross, John Lee Sanders, Edgar Winter, and the late Frank Biner.

The tight, funky horn section is comprised of original Tower of Power horn section leader Mic Gillette (Tower of Power/Sons of Champlin/Mic Gillette Jon Smith Project), Lee Thornburg (Tower of Power/Tonight Show Band), David Woodford (Bonnie Raitt/Jeff Golub), and the Funky Doctor himself – and all tenor sax solos feature current Saturday Night Live bandleader and ex-Tower of Power member Lenny Pickett. Not to be outdone, the rhythm section features strong performances by Jeff Tamelier (guitar), Mike Finnigan (keyboards), Chester Thompson (keyboards), as well as current TOP drummer David Garibaldi and bassist Francis Rocco Prestia, and many more.

If this music doesn’t put a smile on your face, you weren’t listening! There’s so much going on – listen closely and you’ll hear something new every time you play it.

“The world needs cheering up and I love making music with Doc.” -- Huey Lewis, Huey Lewis & the News


to write a review

tom saputo

Another Great CD!
I have the previous Strokeland Superband CDs and they are great. After playing them for my musician friends, many of them said these recordings should be the next T.O.P. CDs. But I am happy that there are 2 seperate presentations happening. This CD features one of my favorite singers, Lydia Pense from Cold Blood. Also being a keyboard player, I am really happy about the legend Chester Thompson.
Please check out my CDs ( Tom Saputo) sold here at CD Baby...

Lisa Saneverino

Love it!
My first Strokeland and it's even better than I expected!!
Must buy the previous ones!!

John Otten

Has Everything!!!
Great CD. Highly recommend. Has everything you want. Soul, Funk, some Latin, and well written Ballads. The people at Strokeland hit a homerun with this CD. Thanks again to "Doc" Kupka, Jeff Tamelier and Chuck Hansen for once again putting out some wonderful music. Can't wait for the next project.